My Writing Life

Writing has always been my outlet. In elementary school, I wrote screen plays and articles for the school newspaper. In junior high, I wrote poetry loaded with teenaged angst. In high school, I kept a journal and wrote letters to far away friends.

In University, I focused on academic writing. Seven years of that earned me a Masters Degree in Science. With bills to pay, I immediately went to work as a Genetic Counsellor where I spent ten years writing scientific articles, educational material, and “Dear Doctor” letters.

When I became a mom in 2006, I started writing fiction and nonfiction for kids. Now, I split my time between writing books and doing contract work as a science writer and knowledge exchange specialist for initiatives such as www.thisisepigenetics.ca.

My Home

I was born in Burlington, Ontario. Since then, I’ve had 21 different addresses in 11 cities and 3 provinces across Canada. I currently live in the mountains of British Columbia, where I’m planning to stay.


Tim and I have two sons; 16-year-old twins named Oliver & Spencer. We share every chair in the house with our cats, Jupiter and Comet.


When I’m not reading or writing on my treadmill desk, I like to be outside hiking, biking or skiing.


Vegetarian food makes me happy; growing it, cooking it, baking it, and eating it!

A Note About My Name

Yolanda is spelled differently than it’s pronounced (without the ‘d’… yo-lawn-a). Very confusing, I know. Blame my mom… I do.

This is how Jupiter pronounces my name.
This is how my son pronounces my name (the correct way).